ArtsFairfax Awards

Home / ArtsFairfax Awards

Please Join Us at the 2022 ArtsFairfax Awards

Celebrating visionary contributions in Fairfax County

October 28, 2022

12:00pm – 2:00pm


The ArtsFairfax Awards bring together business professionals, elected officials, and arts and community leaders to celebrate the extraordinary contributions of local artists, arts organizations, and the private sector. Honorees are celebrated at the annual ArtsFairfax Awards luncheon.


ArtsFairfax is grateful for this year’s sponsors and we are pleased to share that Sponsorship Opportunities for the ArtsFairfax Awards are nearly at capacity. Please contact Debbie Mueller at if you have questions or would like to support this year’s event. 

Jinx Hazel Award:
Capital One Hall

Capital One Hall is this year’s recipient of the Jinx Hazel Award, ArtsFairfax’s premier award recognizing an individual or organization whose vision and commitment has helped shape the cultural life of Fairfax County.

Achievement Award:
Mark Brutsché

Actor, director, and playwright Mark Brutsché is the 2022 Achievement Award recipient for his outstanding career achievement and lasting contributions to the community.

Innovation Award:
Fall for the Book

New in 2022, the Innovation Award recognizes an organization that has implemented nontraditional or inventive approaches to their art form and has uniquely engaged audiences in the arts. In recognition of their forward-thinking literary programming, Fall for the Book is the Innovation Award’s inaugural recipient.

Thank you to the 2022 ArtsFairfax Awards Honorary Committee

U.S. Senate

  • Senator Mark R. Warner
  • Senator Tim Kaine

U.S. House of Representatives

  • Congressman Donald S. Beyer, Jr.
  • Congressman Gerald E. Connolly
  • Congresswoman Jennifer Wexton

Senate of Virginia

  • Senator George Barker
  • Senator Jennifer Boysko
  • Senator Adam Ebbin
  • Senator Barbara Favola
  • Senator Janet Howell
  • Senator David Marsden
  • Senator John “Chap” Petersen
  • Senator Richard “Dick” Saslaw
  • Senator Scott Surovell

Virginia House of

  • Delegate Elizabeth Bennett-Parker
  • Delegate David Bulova
  • Delegate Karrie Delaney
  • Delegate Eileen Filler-Corn
  • Delegate Daniel Helmer
  • Delegate Mark Keam
  • Delegate Kaye Kory
  • Delegate Paul Krizek
  • Delegate Alfonso Lopez
  • Delegate Kathleen Murphy
  • Delegate Kenneth Plum
  • Delegate Irene Shin
  • Delegate Mark Sickles
  • Delegate Marcus Simon
  • Delegate Richard “Rip” Sullivan
  • Delegate Kathy Tran
  • Delegate Vivian Watts

Fairfax County Board of

  • Chairman Jeff McKay
  • Supervisor Walter Alcorn
  • Supervisor John Foust
  • Supervisor Penelope Gross
  • Supervisor Pat Herrity
  • Supervisor Rodney Lusk
  • Supervisor Dalia Palchik
  • Supervisor Kathy Smith
  • Supervisor Dan Storck
  • Supervisor James Walkinshaw

Fairfax County Executive

  • Bryan Hill

City & Town

  • Mayor David Meyer, City of Fairfax
  • Mayor David Tarter, City of Falls Church
  • Mayor Sheila Olem, Town of Herndon
  • Mayor Linda Colbert, Town of Vienna
  • Mayor William Hollaway, Town of Clifton

ArtsFairfax Past Honorees

Jinx Hazel Award:

  • National Museum of the United States Army (2021)
  • The Honorable Sharon Bulova (2019)
  • Margaret & Shashi Gupta (2019)
  • Claude Moore Charitable Foundation (2018)
  • Dewberry (2017)
  • Dominion Resources, Inc. (2016)
  • Earle C. Williams (2015)
  • Bill Reeder & Richard Kamenitzer (2014)
  • Fairfax County Economic Development Authority (2013)
  • Mr. John Til Hazel and Anne Hazel (2012)

Education Award:

  • Traveling Players Ensemble (2021)
  • Kelli Schollard-Sincock (2021)
  • American Youth Philharmonic Orchestras (2018)
  • Fairfax Choral Society (2016)
  • Cappies of the National Capital Area (2014)
  • McLean Project for the Arts (2012)

Philanthropy Award:

  • Reston Town Center Association (2021)
  • Stephen Roberts (2019)
  • Virginia McGehee (2018)
  • Todd Hitt (2017)
  • Jack Kent Cooke Foundation (2016)
  • Richard Hausler (2015)
  • Pat & Steve Macintyre (2014)
  • Cityline Partners (2013)
  • EnviroSolutions (2012)

Impact Award:

  • 1st Stage (2021)
  • Wolf Trap Foundation for the Performing Arts (2018)
  • George Washington’s Mount Vernon (2016)
  • GRACE (2014)
  • IPAR (2012)

Achievement Award:

  • Foon Sham (2019)
  • Dan Sheehey (2017)
  • Rebecca Kamen (2015)
  • Kathryn Fredgren (2013)

Emerging Award:

  • NextStop Theatre Company (2019)
  • Washington West Film Festival (2017)
  • Vienna Jammers (2015)
  • Riverbend Opera Company (2013)