Arts Awards


ARTSFAIRFAX will hold its eighth annual Arts Awards to recognize the visionary contributions that the arts bring to Fairfax County and the Cities of Fairfax and Falls Church. The Arts Awards bring together the arts community, business community, and civic and elected leaders to celebrate the extraordinary contributions of artists, arts organizations, and the private sector for their support of the arts in our community.

Each year ARTSFAIRFAX presents four awards to honorees who strive to make Fairfax County a place where the arts thrive.  On October 18, 2019 we will gather for a luncheon to acknowledge and celebrate the future of our creative community.

Call for Nominations

The nomination period for ARTSFAIRFAX’s Arts Awards is open from January 11 through February 14, 2019.  After the window closes, ARTSFAIFAX will convene a selection committee to review and choose honorees representing the criteria set forth in the award. Nominations are open to the public.

Nominations close Thursday, February 14, 2019.

Click here to submit your nomination for the 2019 Arts Awards.

2019 Honorees
  • Emerging Arts Award: Click here to submit your nomination.
  • Arts Achievement Award:  Click here to submit your nomination.
  • Arts Philanthropy Award: Click here to submit your nomination.

Award Categories

The honorees are selected by ARTSFAIRFAX and community representatives. Nominations are open to the public.

The Emerging Arts Award recognizes a new or young arts organization (up to 6 years in operation) that has presented quality arts programming and engaged a broad or specific sector of the general community in the arts. This award will be given to an organization in any arts discipline, or multi-discipline, in Fairfax County and/or the Cities of Fairfax and Falls Church.

The Arts Achievement Award recognizes outstanding career achievements of an artist in any discipline, who has produced unique, creative, innovative concepts in their work, and has made a lasting contribution to their discipline. The artist must currently reside in Fairfax County and/or the Cities of Fairfax and Falls Church.

The Arts Philanthropy Award acknowledges private sector support of the arts in Fairfax County and/or the Cities of Fairfax and Falls Church, by honoring an individual, corporation or foundation that has provided leadership funding or long-term monetary support to an arts organization or arts program in the community.

Mark Your Calendars for the 2019 Arts Awards

Friday, October 18th noon to 2:00 p.m. at the Fairview Park Marriott, Falls Church. More information coming soon.

Learn more about our 2018 Arts Awards

2018 Honorees

2018 Honorary Committee

U.S. Senate

  • Senator Timothy M. Kaine
  • Senator Mark R. Warner


Senate of Virginia

  • Senator George L. Barker
  • Senator Adam P. Ebbin
  • Senator Barbara A. Favola
  • Senator Janet D. Howell
  • Senator David W. Marsden
  • Senator John “Chap” Petersen
  • Senator Richard L. Saslaw
  • Senator Scott A. Surovell


City & Town Mayors

  • Mayor David L. Meyer, City of Fairfax
  • Mayor David Tarter, City of Falls Church
  • Mayor Lisa C. Merkel, Town of Herndon
  • Mayor Laurie DiRocco, Town of Vienna

U.S. House of Representatives

  • Congressman Donald S. Beyer, Jr.
  • Congresswoman Barbara J. Comstock
  • Congressman Geral E. Connolly


Virginia House of Delegates

  • Delegate Jennifer B. Boysko
  • Delegate David L. Bulova
  • Delegate Eileen Filler-Corn
  • Delegate Timothy D. Hugo
  • Delegate Mark L. Keam
  • Delegate L. Kaye Kory
  • Delegate Paul E. Krizek
  • Delegate Mark Levine
  • Delegate Alfonso H. Lopez
  • Delegate Kathleen Murphy
  • Delegate Kenneth R. Plum
  • Delegate Mark D. Sickles
  • Delegate Mark Simon
  • Delegate Richard C. Sullivan, Jr.
  • Delegate Vivian E. Watts

Virginia Executive Office

  • Lieutenant Governor Justin Fairfax


Fairfax County Board of Supervisors

  • Chairman Sharon Bulova
  • Supervisor John C. Cook
  • Supervisor John W. Foust
  • Supervisor Penelope A. Gross
  • Supervisor Pat S. Herrity
  • Supervisor Catherine M. Hudgins
  • Supervisor Jeffery C. McKay
  • Supervisor Kathy L. Smith
  • Supervisor Linda Q. Smyth
  • Supervisor Daniel G. Storck


Fairfax County Executive

  • Bryan Hill


Arts Community Sponsors

Credit: Neshan Naltchayan, Vita Images, Gee James, Capitol Media USA