Arts Awards

Home / Arts Awards

Join ArtsFairfax for the 2022 Arts Awards

The Arts Awards bring together business professionals, elected officials, and arts and community leaders to celebrate the extraordinary contributions of local artists, arts organizations, and the private sector. Honorees are celebrated at the annual Arts Awards luncheon.

ArtsFairfax welcomes the community to celebrate the 2022 Arts Awards on October 28, 2022 from 12:00pm to 2:00pm at Capital One Hall. Contact Debbie Mueller at  if you have any questions or would like to support the Arts Awards.

Request For Qualifications

ArtsFairfax is seeking to commission an artist or artist team to produce a limited-edition arts map of Fairfax County that we will present to the honorees at the 2022 Arts Awards. The selected artist/team will design a map that highlights Fairfax County’s major arts venues, organizations, and events. The arts map must include the ArtsFairfax logo, towns in the County as well as the Cities of Fairfax and Falls Church, and integrate 3-4 of the most commonly spoken languages in Fairfax. The artist/team will create a limited edition of 20 original prints on paper.

Applications must be submitted by June 1, 2022. 

Jinx Hazel Arts Award:
Capital One Hall

Capital One Hall is this year’s recipient of the Jinx Hazel Arts Award, ArtsFairfax’s premier award recognizing an individual or organization whose vision and commitment has helped shape the cultural life of Fairfax County.

Arts Achievement Award:
Mark Brutsché

Actor, director, and playwright Mark Brutsché is the 2022 Arts Achievement Award recipient for his outstanding career achievement and lasting contributions to the community.

Arts Innovation Award:
Fall for the Book

New in 2022, the Arts Innovation Award recognizes an organization that has implemented nontraditional or inventive approaches to their art form and has uniquely engaged audiences in the arts. In recognition of their forward-thinking literary programming, Fall for the Book is the Arts Innovation Award’s inaugural recipient.

Thank you to the 2022 Arts Awards Honorary Committee

U.S. Senate

  • Senator Mark R. Warner
  • Senator Tim Kaine

U.S. House of Representatives

  • Congressman Donald S. Beyer, Jr.
  • Congressman Gerald E. Connolly
  • Congresswoman Jennifer Wexton

Senate of Virginia

  • Senator George Barker
  • Senator Jennifer Boysko
  • Senator Adam Ebbin
  • Senator Barbara Favola
  • Senator Janet Howell
  • Senator John “Chap” Petersen
  • Senator Richard “Dick” Saslaw
  • Senator Scott Surovell

Virginia House of

  • Delegate Elizabeth Bennett-Parker
  • Delegate David Bulova
  • Delegate Karrie Delaney
  • Delegate Eileen Filler-Corn
  • Delegate Daniel Helmer
  • Delegate Mark Keam
  • Delegate Kaye Kory
  • Delegate Paul Krizek
  • Delegate Alfonso Lopez
  • Delegate Kathleen Murphy
  • Delegate Kenneth Plum
  • Delegate Irene Shin
  • Delegate Mark Sickles
  • Delegate Marcus Simon
  • Delegate Richard “Rip” Sullivan
  • Delegate Kathy Tran
  • Delegate Vivian Watts

Fairfax County Board of

  • Chairman Jeff McKay
  • Supervisor Walter Alcorn
  • Supervisor John Foust
  • Supervisor Penelope Gross
  • Supervisor Pat Herrity
  • Supervisor Rodney Lusk
  • Supervisor Dalia Palchik
  • Supervisor Kathy Smith
  • Supervisor Dan Storck
  • Supervisor James Walkinshaw

Fairfax County Executive

  • Bryan Hill

City & Town

  • Mayor David Meyer, City of Fairfax
  • Mayor David Tarter, City of Falls Church
  • Mayor Sheila Olem, Town of Herndon
  • Mayor Linda Colbert, Town of Vienna
  • Mayor William Hollaway, Town of Clifton

ArtsFairfax Past Honorees

2021 honorees:

  • Jinx Hazel Arts Award – National Museum of the United States Army
  • Arts Education Award – Traveling Players Ensemble
  • Arts Education Award – Kelli Schollard-Sincock
  • Arts Impact Award –  1st Stage
  • Arts Philanthropy Award – Reston Town Center Association

2019 honorees:

  • Jinx Hazel Arts Award – The Honorable Sharon Bulova
  • Jinx Hazel Arts Award – Margaret and Shashi Gupta
  • Arts Achievement Award – Foon Sham
  • Emerging Arts Award – NextStop Theatre Company
  • Arts Philanthropy Award – Stephen Roberts

2018 honorees:

  • Jinx Hazel Arts Award – Claude Moore Charitable Foundation
  • Arts Impact Award – Wolf Trap Foundation for the Performing Arts
  • Arts Education Award – American Youth Philharmonic Orchestras
  • Arts Philanthropy Award – Virginia McGehee Friend

2017 honorees:

  • Jinx Hazel Arts Award – Dewberry
  • Emerging Arts Award – Washington West Film Festival
  • Arts Achievement Award – Dan Sheehey
  • Arts Philanthropy Award – Todd Hitt

2016 honorees:

  • Jinx Hazel Arts Award – Dominion Resources, Inc.
  • Arts Impact Award – George Washington’s Mount Vernon
  • Arts Education Award – Fairfax Choral Society
  • Arts Philanthropy Award – Jack Kent Cooke Foundation

2015 honorees:

  • Jinx Hazel Arts Award – Earle C. Williams
  • Emerging Arts Award – Vienna Jammers
  • Arts Achievement Award – Rebecca Kamen
  • Arts Philanthropy Award – Richard Hausler

2014 honorees:

  • Jinx Hazel Arts Award – Bill Reeder & Richard Kamenitzer
  • Arts Impact Award – GRACE
  • Arts Education Award – Cappies of the National Capitol Area
  • Arts Philanthropy Award – Pat & Steve Macintyre

2013 honorees:

  • Jinx Hazel Arts Award – Fairfax County Economic Development Authority
  • Emerging Arts Award – Riverbend Opera Company
  • Arts Achievement Award – Kathryn Fredgren
  • Arts Philanthropy Award – Cityline Partners

2012 honorees:

  • Jinx Hazel Arts Award – Mr. John Til Hazel and Anne Hazel
  • Arts Impact Award – IPAR
  • Arts Education Award – McLean Project for the Arts
  • Arts Philanthropy Award – EnviroSolutions

Arts Awards Sponsors 2021

Premier Sponsors


Reston Community Center logo

Arts Award Sponsors


Dominion Energy logo

Arts Community Sponsors


Leidos logo Reston Town Center Association logo