ArtsFairfax Awards

Home / ArtsFairfax Awards

Celebrating visionary contributions in Fairfax County

The 2024 ArtsFairfax Awards on Friday, October 25, 2024 will celebrate the Peterson Family Foundation, philanthropist Anne R. Kline, dancer and choreographer Shu-Chen Cuff, and the early cancer detection nonprofit We Rock Cancer for their visionary contributions to the arts in Fairfax and Northern Virginia.

Save the date: October 25, 2024 at Capital One Hall

The ArtsFairfax Awards celebrate the extraordinary contributions of local artists, arts organizations, and the private sector. Held annually to raise the visibility of arts and culture throughout Fairfax County and the Cities of Fairfax and Falls Church, the ArtsFairfax Awards attract more than 350 guests, including local, state, and federal elected officials, as well as private supporters, business professionals, and arts and community leaders.

Proceeds from the ArtsFairfax Awards help sustain the critical services, resources, and support the nonprofit provides for the local arts sector and the broader community. As Fairfax County’s local arts agency, ArtsFairfax serves more than 200 arts and culture nonprofits by distributing County funds to the arts, connecting artists and arts organizations to each other and to other sectors, and promoting arts and culture activities for approximately 1.2 million County residents.

Peterson Family Foundation

The Jinx Hazel Award is ArtsFairfax’s premier award recognizing an individual or organization whose vision and commitment has helped shape the cultural life of Fairfax County.

Anne R. Kline

The Philanthropy Award acknowledges private sector support of the arts in Fairfax County and/or the Cities of Fairfax and Falls Church, by honoring an individual, corporation, or foundation that has provided leadership funding, long-term monetary support, or significant investment in the arts.

Shu-Chen Cuff

The Achievement Award recognizes the outstanding career of an artist in any discipline who has made a lasting contribution to their discipline and/or community.

We Rock Cancer

The Innovation Award recognizes an individual or organization that has implemented nontraditional or inventive approaches to their art form or has uniquely engaged audiences in the arts.

Channel 16 Segment for 2023 ArtsFairfax Awards

Featuring: Scott Cryer, Board Chair, ArtsFairfax

Margaret Hancock, Executive Director, Virginia Commission for the Arts (VCA)

Jeffrey C. McKay, Chairman, Fairfax County Board of Supervisors

Produced by Fairfax County Government Channel 16 in cooperation with ArtsFairfax.

Fairfax Public Access Presents the 2023 ArtsFairfax Awards

Produced by FPA in cooperation with ArtsFairfax.

A message from our Visionary Sponsor

Leila Gordon, Executive Director, Reston Community Center
Produced by Fairfax County Government Channel 16 in cooperation with ArtsFairfax.

2023 ArtsFairfax Awards Press Releases

Thank you to the 2023 ArtsFairfax Awards Honorary Committee

U.S. Senate

  • Senator Mark R. Warner
  • Senator Tim Kaine

U.S. House of Representatives

  • Congressman Donald S. Beyer, Jr.
  • Congressman Gerald E. Connolly
  • Congresswoman Jennifer Wexton

Senate of Virginia

  • Senator Jennifer Boysko
  • Senator Adam Ebbin
  • Senator David Marsden
  • Senator Stella Pekarsky
    Senator Saddam Azlan Salim
  • Senator Scott Surovell

Virginia House of

  • Delegate David Bulova
  • Delegate Laura Jane Cohen
  • Delegate Karrie Delaney
  • Delegate Daniel Helmer
  • Delegate Rozia Henson, Jr.
  • Delegate Karen Keys-Gamarra
  • Delegate Paul Krizek
  • Delegate Holly Seibold
  • Delegate Irene Shin
  • Delegate Mark Sickles
  • Delegate Marcus Simon
  • Delegate Richard “Rip” Sullivan, Jr.
  • Delegate Kathy Tran
  • Delegate Vivian Watts

Fairfax County Board of

  • Chairman Jeffrey C. McKay
  • Supervisor Walter Alcorn
  • Supervisor James Bierman, Jr.
  • Supervisor Pat Herrity
  • Supervisor Andres Jimenez
  • Supervisor Rodney Lusk
  • Supervisor Dalia Palchik
  • Supervisor Kathy Smith
  • Supervisor Dan Storck
  • Supervisor James Walkinshaw

Fairfax County Executive

  • Bryan Hill

City & Town

  • Mayor Catherine Read, City of Fairfax
  • Mayor Letty Hardi, City of Falls Church
  • Mayor Sheila Olem, Town of Herndon
  • Mayor Linda Colbert, Town of Vienna

ArtsFairfax Awards Past Honorees

Jinx Hazel Award:

  • Workhouse Arts Center (2023)
  • Capital One Hall (2022)
  • National Museum of the United States Army (2021)
  • The Honorable Sharon Bulova (2019)
  • Margaret & Shashi Gupta (2019)
  • Claude Moore Charitable Foundation (2018)
  • Dewberry (2017)
  • Dominion Resources, Inc. (2016)
  • Earle C. Williams (2015)
  • Bill Reeder & Richard Kamenitzer (2014)
  • Fairfax County Economic Development Authority (2013)
  • John Til Hazel & Anne Hazel (2012)

Education Award:

  • The Osher Lifelong Learning Institute at George Mason University (2023)
  • Traveling Players Ensemble (2021)
  • Kelli Schollard-Sincock (2021)
  • American Youth Philharmonic Orchestras (2018)
  • Fairfax Choral Society (2016)
  • Cappies of the National Capital Area (2014)
  • McLean Project for the Arts (2012)

Philanthropy Award:

  • Lola Reinsch (2023)
  • Gary & Tina Mather (2022)
  • Reston Town Center Association (2021)
  • Stephen Roberts (2019)
  • Virginia McGehee Friend (2018)
  • Todd Hitt (2017)
  • Jack Kent Cooke Foundation (2016)
  • Richard Hausler (2015)
  • Pat & Steve Macintyre (2014)
  • Cityline Partners (2013)
  • EnviroSolutions (2012)

Impact Award:

  • Inova Schar Cancer Institute in partnership with Smith Center for Healing and the Arts (2023)
  • 1st Stage (2021)
  • Wolf Trap Foundation for the Performing Arts (2018)
  • George Washington’s Mount Vernon (2016)
  • GRACE (2014)
  • IPAR (2012)

Achievement Award:

  • Mark Brutsché (2022)
  • Foon Sham (2019)
  • Dan Sheehy (2017)
  • Rebecca Kamen (2015)
  • Kathryn Fredgren (2013)

Emerging Award:

  • NextStop Theatre Company (2019)
  • Washington West Film Festival (2017)
  • Vienna Jammers (2015)
  • Riverbend Opera Company (2013)

Innovation Award:

  • Fall For The Book (2022)

ArtsFairfax Awards Past Awards Artists


  • Jean Sausele-Knodt (2023)
  • Foon Sham (2022)
  • JP Muller (2021)
  • Bikki Stricker (2019)
  • David Barnes (2018)
  • Wayne Schiffelbein (2017)
  • Rebecca Kamen (2016)
  • Jonathan Fisher (2015)
  • Evan C. Reed (2014)
  • Dale Marhanka (2013)
  • Ian Kessler-Gowell (2012)